Taking a leap…

Two days ago, I drove to San Francisco.

This, if you don’t know me very well, is a big deal.

I live an hour and a half away, and I’ve never driven on these California freeways for an extended period of time, AND I don’t have a GPS. Not even a GPS app on my iPhone, if you can believe it.

I don’t have a great track record for finding my way in a new city–in fact, I regularly got lost when I lived in NYC, which, if you’ve never been, is laid out in an easy-to-get-around-with-the-possible-exception-of-the-village grid. But still I got in my car and drove north.

I wasn’t going to San Francisco to hang out or even to explore; I was going to San Francisco because the Small Business Administration was holding a seminar entitled “From Kitchen to Market: Selling Your Specialty Foods.” As soon as I saw the title, I realized that was what I needed to be doing with my day off from work.

While the seminar was targeted more toward potential wholesale and packaged goods businesses (like people selling hot sauce or prepackaged cookies), I learned some invaluable lessons, and the seminar helped put a lot of things into perspective.

I am starting to get very excited about my first real venture into the entrepreneurial world–I finally have direction, and things are starting to look like they’re going to fall into place. I’m confident that I’m going to be able to be up and running by the spring or early summer, provided I can put the funds together.

I think moving out to California was the best possible move I could have made…this is the year of taking leaps and not looking back. This is the year that I do things like start a business or drive to (and from!) San Francisco without a GPS and without getting lost. This is the year that I spend my day off learning how a business is run, and the year that things like business licenses and health permits and operating costs and business plans become part of my vocabulary.

I’m so excited that I’m finally going after my dreams instead of just hoping they’ll come true. I’m learning that “hope,” in the context I’ve always used it, is a victim’s word. I’m finally taking charge…so you can all expect to see good things as the days pass and my business takes flight.

Thank you all for being part of my journey, GPS or no,

Love and Cookies,

KP

P.S. If you’d like to donate to my startup fund, please visit my donation page. Even a few dollars helps–I have started a wish list on the site, so you can see what your donation is helping to fund! Thank you in advance for any and all support!!!

 

Leave a Reply

