Orange You Glad…

It’s almost Christmas, and, let’s face it: I’m sick of Christmas cookies.

Blasphemy (sort of), I know. But here’s why:

In 2007, I signed up for email newsletters from Allrecipes.com, Epicurious.com, and FoodNetwork.com. I read them for inspiration–and, before Twitter, they helped me get an idea of baking trends and seasonal flavors. And every year, come December, all three websites try to outdo themselves with suggestions for Christmas cookies.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I like gingerbread. I’m not a huge fan of candy canes, but I can see their worth. Shortbread and sugar cookies will always have  a place in my heart, whether or not they’re decorated with red and green frosting or cut out to look like snowflakes. But it gets old after a while. Every year, we see variations on a theme, and every year, I yearn for something different.

And then I happened to stumble upon, as I often do while jumping from blog to blog in a quasi-ADHD fashion, a link to a blog talking about a traditionally English Christmastime treat: Terry’s Chocolate Oranges.

If you have never had a Chocolate Orange, I ask–no, I implore you to go find one, smash it on a table, eat it, and then come back and finish reading my blog. No, seriously; I’ll wait.

Done? Ok, good. Because, frankly, you’re a better person for having added that amazing-ness into your life.*

And so I had an idea: Chocolate Oranges are Christmas-y. Oranges are in season right now. Chocolate and orange taste amazing together….Why not make a Chocolate Orange Christmas cookie?

Done.

What you see next is a brief montage of citrus and chocolate-y goodness, from the candied orange peels to the divine cookie integration.

(PS, there is no “zest” in these cookies. I used an orange flavoring I found at Whole Foods–made from sunflower & food-grade orange oils–instead. There are, however, chunks of orange peel, candied in sugar and then smothered in chocolate. You’re welcome.)

Candied Chocolate-Covered Orange Peels

Yes.

 

Just...yes.

*I swear they’re not paying me to say that. Those things are just awesome.

Happy holidays.

Love & Cookies,

KP

Leave a Reply

