There’s nothing better than chocolate chip cookies…

I never thought I’d be a baker. In high school, I spent my time preparing to become the next Press Secretary to the President of the United States. And an English professor at an Ivy League school. And a Broadway-produced playwright/leading lady.

And then I made Matt a batch of cookies.

You see, back in high school, my best friend & I started going to Whole Foods & buying their amazing blueberry muffins to eat on the beach at sunset. And so I baked Matt a batch of blueberry muffins. And somehow that got us on the subject of chocolate chip cookies. I don’t remember the details, but I do remember that he prefers his chocolate chip cookies to be of the harder, browner variety, whereas I prefer the soft or chewy kind. Either way, I decided to bake a batch.

After some trial and error,  I stumbled upon a best-of-both-worlds kind of recipe–chocolate chip cookies that have the deep, full flavor of a harder, more browned cookie, but retain the bite of a chewy, soft cookie. The depth of flavor comes from the spices I add…and the fact that in my first batch I accidentally tripled the vanilla (and then never looked back!).

These cookies really are “Better than Chocolate Chip.” If you don’t believe me, ask my friends who taste-tested the batch I brought with me to work yesterday. Or don’t–because they’ll tell you not to eat them (so they can have them all for themselves!).

Here’s how I make my Better than Chocolate Chip cookies:

Turns out, being a baker is “better than” I could have ever expected in high school.

Love & Cookies,

KP

PS If you want to know more about what Matt’s doing to help New Haven Schools, check out this link! (and also this one!)

One response

  1. Pingback: The Great Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Experiment of 2011! | KP's Cookies

Leave a Reply

